How Taking Risks Changed My Life

It’s All About Embracing Uncertainty

Janice
4 min readJul 21, 2023

Sometimes in life, we often remain stagnant, convinced that staying put where we are is the “safe” option. We cling to jobs we’ve outgrown out of comfort and fear of the unknown (totally valid!) and hold onto outdated relationships for similar reasons. But have you ever considered that the concepts of “safe” and “afraid of the unknown” are just mere assumptions? Think about it. The truth is, we can never truly predict how things will turn out. The seemingly safe path might lead to disastrous consequences while taking risks can bring on positive and transformative changes.

It’s really about forward movement. Life is meant to be in constant flux — a continuous journey of progress. Taking the first step, no matter how small, can literally change your life, as it did for me. Some of the best decisions I’ve made in my life were considered risky at the time. Looking back, I’m so grateful for having the courage to take those seemingly small steps forward that amounted to giant leaps.

Here are some of the “risks” I took that led to being the best decisions I’ve made in my life:

· Meeting my future husband on a free and unpretentious (grungy!) dating app on the very first night I signed up. (The risk? It was on PlentyofFish instead of revisiting my eHarmony…

--

--

Janice

Life coach passionate about personal development, and teaching women how to live authentically. https://linktr.ee/janiceventura